The Jubilee Ladies

The ladies have been playing bowls at Jubilee Bowls Club for almost as long as the men, and they are a completely integral part of the club.

Indeed, there are many who would say the club would not be the success it is today were it not for the ladies.

At the first annual meeting of the mens club on the 21st July 1952, Bill Norrie moved that ladies be accepted as Associates and charged one guinea annual subscription and 10/6d entrance fee.

Alan Pollock has chaired an initial interest meeting of 29 ladies held a few days earlier at Mundingburra State School on Thursday 17th July, 1952. A motion was carried that "an associate club to the Jubilee Bowling Club under the name of the Jubilee Bowling Club Associates be formed".

The ladies formed the Jubilee Associates under the leadership of the late Mary Morris. As foundation president, she capably guided the women during the first years.

The first positions filled were:


Mrs E "Gran" Armstrong


Mrs Swaffield


Mrs W Morris


Mrs Jennings

Vice Captain:

Mrs M McMahon


Mrs Pollock


Mrs A Morris


Mrs Wicks

Hon Secretary:

Mrs G Smith


Mrs Daniels


Mrs Norrie